top of page

Giuseppe Sammartini's exhuberant concerto for oboe, strings and continuo in E-flat major.  



The present concerto survives in the collection of the Dresden Hofkapelle known asSchrank II (Cabinet II) which comprises a large number of instrumental music associated with the Dresden court in the early eighteenth century. Many German composers are represented in the collection; Telemman, Quantz, Fasch and Handel, along with prominent figures from Italy including Vivaldi, Locatelli and Porpora. Four of Giuseppe Sammartini’s five surviving oboe concertos are present in the Schrank II collection, showing that the court orchestra not only had a keen interest in his music, but also had among their ranks an oboist of considerable talent. Sammartini himself was celebrated across Europe as a virtuoso oboist and his technical prowess is evident in the writing in this concerto in E-flat.

Sammartini - Oboe concerto in E-flat. Digital Download.

  • Scoring: Oboe, 2 violins, 2 violas, continuo (cello, bass, harpsichord)

    Contents: Full Score - 30 pages, 6 parts - 30 pages.


    • Oboe
    • Violino 1
    • Violino 2
    • Viola 1
    • Viola 2
    • Continuo
    • Continuo realisation

    Total pages: 83
    File size: 4.8 MB
    Work duration: 10'
    Catalogue number: CK0053 

    ISMN: 9790708170525

bottom of page